Run #3 Reflection: Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr it’s cold in here!❄️❄️❄️

Just a quick post-run update since my fingers are still defrosting!

Man alive that was TOUGH. And today’s run reminded me why I’ve started training early. Running in the cold is not only, well, cold but it affects your running, as I found out today. I found it really tough to get in to a rhythm with my breathing. I’ve always found running in the cold tricky and to be honest I’m not quite sure what I need to do to help my breathing settle. And to make matters worse, the first 10-15 minutes of running are often the most tortuous for me. So if anyone has any good pointers on getting through those first few gruelling, breathless minutes please let me know!

I also couldn’t get in to a rhythm with my actual running today either. I’m not sure if it was the cold, a new route or just the fact that it was an off day but it was a real struggle to find any sort of pace. Not that I really know what sort of pace I’m doing other than what Runkeeper tells me every 5 minutes!! But I could feel it today that things just didn’t feel quite right. So running, jogging, walking were all in the mix today… some more than others!

But the important thing: I turned up. I turned up, gave it a go and achieved today’s goal of ‘running’ continuously for 30 minutes. And while it didn’t feel great whilst doing the run, it feels great typing these sentences, knowing that I turned up and didn’t bail out. So that’s what I’m taking forward with me today: turn up, and then let everything go from there, whatever that might be!

Run #3 Rating & Reflection

Achievement = 3 actually no 4

I’m really proud of myself for turning up and giving it a go, and I’m actually feeling quite refreshed having been for the run, but I’m giving ‘achievement’ an average score as I think I could have stuck at some of the harder bits a little more. Then again, it was my first time running in near freezing temperature and that did really through me. Ok, I’ was going to score it a 3 but I’m going to up it to a 4!

Enjoyment = 2

Yeh, I really REALLY didn’t like today’s run. But I did enjoy meeting 2 friends for a milkshake (banana and peanut butter!) after. Silver linings!

Leave a Reply

